The website for culture in europe and the world!

Read the words of the world

The Balkan countries

The Balkan countries are the countries that are in the Balkan peninsula, near the Mediterranean sea. (You will not find Greece here, as it is on the Mediterranean page) These include Slovenia, Croatia, Serbia, Montenegro, Kosovo, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Albania, Macedonia, Romania and Bulgaria. Many of these countries were once part of the country of Yugoslavia, but they have now gone their separate ways and found a new world of prosperity. Already, Slovenia, Romania and Bulgaria have joined the EU, with more expected to follow.


If you live in one of the Balkan countries or have been there, tell us a bit about the country and its culture in the shoutbox below.